Why Attend?

About FGIM

Past Forum Proceedings

FGIM History


Field Trip


Abstract Submissions

Program Committee

Thanks to our Sponsors

Sponsorship Opportunities


Contact Us

About SME

Marketing Tools

Connect With Us


International Attendees

Letter of Invitation

Robert L. Bates Memorial Scholarship

“It’s been said that the language is the only natural resource that can be mined indefinitely without depletion. I enjoy mining it.”
– Bob Bates

FGIM welcomes student participation at the Forum. Not only are students invited to attend, they are encouraged to present their research as an oral presentation or poster. Papers or abstracts, if accepted, will be published in Forum Proceedings.

Additionally, students can apply for the Robert L. Bates Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship provides full conference attendance, including travel expenses.  

Submission Checklist – Deadline: April 4, 2024

Nomination Form – Deadline: May 4, 2024


Nomination Requirements & Application

Students in Earth Sciences who have an undergraduate junior standing through graduate student level and:

  • Maintain at least at 3.0 GPA in a 4.0 system, or the equivalent.
  • Show a strong inclination towards industrial minerals.
  • Submit a statement of purpose describing student’s background and professional goals.
  • Submit a letter of recommendation written by a Nominator (an adviser or a professional in the field of industrial minerals).

How to Apply

Submit all documentation, including nomination form, statement of purpose and letter of recommendation using the link below.

Or send your application materials to:

Tom Newman
1405 Parkwood Drive, Fort Collins, Colorado 80525 USA


About the Robert L. Bates Memorial Scholarship

To encourage student attendance at FGIM, organizers of the 31st Forum instituted a grant to fund a student to attend the Forum free of any expense. This effort has grown into the Robert L. Bates Scholarship Fund and is supported by donations from Forums as part of expenses and from individuals. Robert L. Bates Scholarship Fund trustees administer the 403(c) scholarship, but the Forum Steering Committee selects the scholarship recipient. It is hoped that the scholarship will grow where at least two individuals will receive grants to attend: one from any location and the other one from the local area of that Forum.


Past Scholarship Recipients

1995 – El Paso, TX, USA
Kim MacLeod | Nova Scotia Department of. Natural Resources, Halifax, NS, Canada


1996 – Laramie, WY, USA
Arnold Doden | Penn State University, University Park, PA, USA


1997 – Québec City, Québec, Canada
Wayne Wright | Department of Geology, University College Dublin, Belfield Dublin 4, Ireland


1998 – Norman, OK, USA
Kristen Coose | Bureau of Geology & Mineral Resources, New Mexico Institute of Mining & Technology
Socorro, NM, USA


1999 – Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Martin Anctil | University of Laval, Ste. Foy, Quebec, Canada


2000 – Bath, UK
Stefan Mueller | Camborne School of Mines, UK and
Geoffrey E. Gilbert | University of Montana, USA


2001 – Victoria, BC, Canada
Alfred M. Elser | Department of Geology, Georgia State University, USA


2002 – St. Louis, MO, USA
Paula R. Alves | Missouri School of Mines, Rolla, MO, USA


2003 – Reno, NV, USA
Benjamin George | Colorado School of Mines, Department of Geology and Geological Engineering, Golden, CO, USA


2004 – Bloomington, IN, USA
Dawn A. Schippe (EIT Graduate Student) | Colorado School of Mines, Golden, CO, USA


2005 – Istanbul, Turkey
Danae Voormeij | University of Victoria, Victoria, B.C, Canada


2006 – Asheville, NC, USA
Hakan Demirkilic | Istanbul Technical University, Turkey and
Nathan Jenks | Colorado School of Mines, Golden, CO, USA


Honorable Mention:
Lisa Schleicher | University of North Carolina – Asheville, Asheville, NC, USA


2007 – Boulder, CO, USA
Stephanie Murillo Maikut | New Mexico Institute of Mining & Technology, Socorro, NM, USA


2008 – Midwest City, OK, USA
Jie Wang | University of Florida Gainesville, FL, USA


2009 – Delaware, OH, USA
Michael Cheshire | Indiana University Bloomington, IN, USA


2010 – Middletown, PA, USA
Michael Stefanic | Shippensburg University, Shippensburg, PA


2011 – Urbana – Champaign, IL, USA
Robert Fajber | University of Victoria, Victoria, BC, Canada and
Jay Bridgeman | Furman University, Greenville, SC, USA and
Elizabeth (Liz) Graybill | Ohio University, Athens, OH, USA


2012 – Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Sallie Gaillard | University of North Carolina Asheville, NC, USA and
Dana Susina | University of Georgia, Athens, GA, USA and
Elizabeth (Liz) Graybill | Ohio University, Athens, OH, USA


2013 – Kingston, Jamaica
Andrea Nolting | Colorado School of Mines, Golden CO


2014 – St Andrews, Scotland
Michael Lee Berger | Colorado School of Mines, Golden CO


2015 – Brooklyn Center, Minnesota USA
Cody Stack | Ohio University, Athens, Ohio and
Laura Simandl | University of Victoria, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada


2016 – Louisville, Kentucky USA
Adrián Obando | University Of Costa Rica, San Pedro, Costa Rica


2017 – Colorado Springs, Colorado USA
Jullian Williams | University of the West Indies, Mona Campus


2018 – Austin, Texas USA
Joseph F. Orso IV | Iowa State University

SME Membership

Sign Up & Stay Informed

Follow & Share

Interact with other conference attendees and get the latest conference updates. Use hashtag #FGIM60

12999 E. Adam Aircraft Cir. Englewood, CO 80112

The Society for Mining, Metallurgy & Exploration (SME) brings together the mining and mineral industry’s brightest and most dedicated professionals. Over 13,000 global members advance their careers with world-class technical resources, educational programs, networking opportunities, and professional development tools from SME. Our members are focused on sharing best practices on safety, environmental stewardship, and moving mining forward. SME. Inspiring mining professionals worldwide.

© 2024 SME. All right reserved.  |  Privacy Policy & Terms and Conditions